Home » Andhra Pradesh, Top News » 6 loyalist MLAs dump Jagan

6 loyalist MLAs dump Jagan

Posted by on November 19, 2011 0 Comment

Amid indications that they want to distance themselves from YSR Congress chief Jaganmohan Reddy in the wake of the ongoing CBI probe against him, six of the 26 Congress legislators who tendered their resignations in support of Jagan called on Speaker N Manohar at his office on Friday and reportedly urged him not to honour their resignation letters.

These Congress legislators are C Adinarayana Reddy (Jammalamadugu), PRavi (Putalapattu), T Balraju (Polavaram), G Babu Rao (Payakaraopet), K Srinivasulu (Kodur) and Dharmana Krishna Das (Narsannapeta). Though the MLAs told the media later that they had left the decision of accepting or rejecting their resignations to the discretion of the Speaker, sources in the speaker’s office said the MLAs wanted Manohar to reject their resignations.

The 26 Congress MLAs had submitted their resignations in support of Jagan after YSR’s name figured in the FIR registered by the CBI in the assets case against the Kadapa MP. However, after insisting earlier that the Speaker accept their resignations, the MLAs now are urging him to reject it.

“The political isolation of Jagan, plus the CBI probe against him and apprehensions of his possible arrest have made these MLAs reluctant to abandon the Congress and contest the bypolls on a different symbol. For the time being, staying put in the Congress seems to be the sensible option for them,” said the sources.TOI

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply