Home » Andhra Pradesh » Agitators step up pressure on those who failed to resign

Agitators step up pressure on those who failed to resign

Posted by on July 5, 2011 0 Comment

Warangal: Telangana agitators on Tuesday attacked the houses of elected representatives, who have failed to submit their resignations for the cause of separate Telangana State.

With the Congress MLA from Malkajgiri Assembly constituency, Mr Akula Rajender, failing to submit his resignation along with others on Monday, the agitators marched to his residence on Tuesday morning and demanded him to resign forthwith. They also raised “Jai Telangana” slogans. Meanwhile, Mr Rajender called on the Chief Minister, Mr N Kiran Kumar Reddy, and closeted with him.

In Warangal district, Telangana activists marched to the residence of Ms Gundu Sudharani, Rajya Sabha member of Telugu Desam party on Tuesday morning and demanded her to resign from her post. They also warned her that they would not allow her to come out of her house if she failed to quit her elective post. Suspecting violent attacks on the immovable properties of Ms Sudharani, the police tightened security at her petrol bunk and a hotel in Warangal town.

The agitators also stormed the residences of the Congress MLCs, Mr Konda Muralidhar Rao, Ms Pulla Padmavathi of the YSR Congress Party and Mr Dileep Kumar and demanded them to resign from their membership of the Council. Succumbing to the pressure, while Mr Konda Muralidhar Rao submitted his resignation on Tuesday, Mr Dileep Kumar has promised to do so immediately. However, Ms Pulla Padmavathi was reportedly in a quandary.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply