Home » Andhra Pradesh » GHMC Mayor and Dy Mayor’s elections on Dec 30

GHMC Mayor and Dy Mayor’s elections on Dec 30

Posted by on December 20, 2011 0 Comment

Elections for the new GHMC Mayor and Deputy Mayor would be held on December 30.

The State Election Commission on Monday appointed Hyderabad district collector Natrajan Gulzar as the Returning Officer for the elections for coveted posts. The elections would be held at the Jubilee Hall through secret ballot.

The nomination, elections and declaration of results would be done on December 30 itself. As many as 150 GHMC corporators and 66 ex-officio members would exercise their franchise to elect the new Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

The ex-officio members include five Lok Sabha MPs, 11 Rajya Sabha MPs, 25 MLAs and 25 MLCs. However, the co-option members would have no voting rights.

It may be mentioned that Banda Karthika Redddy resigned as the GHMC Mayor on December 5 to facilitate the election of MIM candidate for the post as a part of power sharing agreement between the Congress and MIM.

Similarly, Deputy Mayor Jaffer Hussain Meraj submitted his resignation on Dec 16. The Mayor’s resignation was accepted by the GHMC in a special general body meeting held on Dec 17.

Both the MIM and Congress are not likely to announce the names of their candidates for the posts till Dec 29.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply