Home » Andhra Pradesh » Jagan, Vijayamma post resounding victories: Rivals lose deposits

Jagan, Vijayamma post resounding victories: Rivals lose deposits

Posted by on May 14, 2011 0 Comment

Kadapa: Despite the Chief Minister, Mr N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, and his entire cabinet and the TDP chief, Mr N. Chandrababu Naidu and all his men left no stone unturned to snub Mr Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, the mother and son have posted resounding victories in the Kadapa Lok Sabha and Pulivendula Assembly constituencies. Both have surpassed the earlier records of late Dr Y S Rajasekhara Reddy.

Mr Jagan Mohan Reddy won the Kadapa seat by a majority of 5,43,053 votes over his nearest Congress rival and minister Dr D L Ravindra Reddy. Both Dr Ravindra Reddy and the TDP candidate, Dr M V Mysoora Reddy, lost their deposits.

While Mr Jagan Mohan Reddy (YSR Congress) was polled 6,48,913 votes, his Congress rival, Dr Ravindra Reddy secured 1,36,598 votes Mr Mysoora Reddy of the TDP got 1,29,262 votes. In 1991, Dr Y S Rajasekhara Reddy had won the Kadapa Lok Sabha seat with a majority of 4.18 lakh votes. Now Mr Jagan has surpassed that record.

Ms Vijayamma also broke her husband’s record. While late YSR won the Pulivendula seat by a majority of 68,681 votes, Ms Vijya lakshmi now won the seat with a majority of 85,191 votes. This is the record win for the Pulivendula constituency.

While Ms Vijaya Lakshmi of YSR Congress was polled 1,14,198 votes, Mr Y S Vivekananda Reddy of the Congress got 28,626 votes and B. Tech Ravi of the TDP: 11,552 votes. (NSS)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply