Home » Andhra Pradesh, Top News » More Jagan loyalists to take U-turn

More Jagan loyalists to take U-turn

Posted by on May 8, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: It seems that the Chief Minister, Mr N. Kiran Kumar Reddy’s move to disqualify some party MLAs loyal to Mr Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, has acted as a deterrent and latest indications show that some errant MLAs have decided to come back to the Congress fold.

According to sources close to the Chief Minister, the Rayachoti and Rajampet MLAs, Mr Gadikota Srikanth Reddy and Mr Akepati Amarnath Reddy, will soon announce their loyalty to the Congress and to the party president, Mrs Sonia Gandhi.

The sources added that the announcement will be made much before the counting of votes for the Kadapa Lok Sabha and Pulivendula Assembly bypolls on May 13.

The Badvel Congress MLA, Ms P.M. Kamalamma, and the Banaganapalle Praja Rajyam MLA, Mr Katasani Ramireddy, have already returned to their respective parties claiming that they were always loyal to their party’s leadership and that they were fed up with the autocratic and authoritarian behaviour of Mr Jagan during their brief association with him.

Sources said that the Rayachoti and Rajampet MLAs have been in touch with the Chief Minister for quite some time. They have also not been seen in the election campaign meetings with Mr Jagan during the last four days.

Sources said that the errant MLAs did not expect the Chief Minister to go so far as to seek the disqualification of the MLAs, forcing bypolls. The announcement by local leaders about fielding alternative candidates in the event of bypolls also forced the MLAs to think about returning to the party fold.

It is known that Mr Srikanth Reddy met the Chief Minister last week and requested him to reconsider the disqualification move against him.

More than the loyalty issue, these MLAs are not sure about being re-elected as several second and third-rung leaders had remained loyal to the party and had not followed them into Mr Jagan’s camp.

If the two MLAs express their loyalty to the Congress, the proceedings in the disqualification petition will take a different turn.

The Deputy Speaker will have no choice if the petitioner (the Congress Legislature Party) is satisfied with the replies sent by the MLAs and does not press for action. The same would be the case of the PR MLA, Mr Katasani Ramireddy. DC

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply