Home » Andhra Pradesh » No Trust Motion puts Jagan in tight spot

No Trust Motion puts Jagan in tight spot

Posted by on June 2, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: After a long period of trying to outmanoeuvre each other, Telugu Desam Party president N Chandrababu Naidu may have managed to bell the proverbial cat and get the better of YSR Congress Party president YS Jaganmohan Reddy by his decision to introduce a No Confidence Motion against the Congress government.

Mr Naidu’s decision, in all probability will leave Mr Jaganmohan Reddy exposed and force him to reveal his true strength, or lack of it.

On paper, the Congress looks likely to defeat the No Confidence Motion to be introduced by the TDP convincingly.

Officially, the Congress has 155 MLAs of its own, besides the 18 MLAs of the Praja Rajyam Party. Apart from this, it also has the support of seven MLAs of the Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen. On paper, this would give the Congress the support of 180 MLAs in the 294 Member Assembly.

Officially, the Telugu Desam Party has 91 MLAs, after the resignation of Banswada MLA Pocharam Srinivas being accepted earlier.

Besides this, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi has 11, the Communist Party of India has four, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) one, the Bharatiya Janata Party has two, the YSR Congress Party and the Lok Satta Party has one each.

Two Independent MLAs complete the 294 Member Assembly.

The Congress has served four MLAs notices for anti-party activities, so has the TDP to an equal number of its Members (Mr Pocharam Srinivas’s resignation was however accepted).

The TRS house itself is beset with problems after the party suspended three MLAs for cross-voting during the Legislative Council elections.

The PRP has issued notice to two of its MLAs, but one Member pledged his loyalty to the party and the show-cause notice was withdrawn.

Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy needs the support of 147 MLAs to defeat the No Confidence Motion.

However, the TDP, by introducing the No Confidence Motion, has forced the hands of the YSR Congress Party, which has been claiming to have the support of a major chunk of MLAs.

The YSR Congress Party leaders, though unwilling to publicly declare the number of MLAs supporting it, have claimed that the number could be anything from 20 to 70 MLAs.

The Congress is said to be confident that if all said and done, at least 150 Members will repose their faith in the government, even if the 27 MLAs who have been spotted at different times with Mr Jaganmohan Reddy vote against it.

By introducing the No Trust Motion, Mr Naidu has more or less forced Mr Jaganmohan Reddy to either expose his strength or keep quiet.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply