Home » Andhra Pradesh » Nod for five new power lines to tap Rajahmundry plant

Nod for five new power lines to tap Rajahmundry plant

Posted by on June 17, 2011 0 Comment

New Delhi: The Centre on Friday gave the green signal for setting up of five new lines to transmit power on an estimated length of 2,600 km, from the gas based generation project in Vemagiri/Rajahmundry in Andhra Pradesh and Nagapattanam/Cuddolore areas of Tamil Nadu.
The cost incurred would be about Rs 6485 crore.

The Empowered Committee of the Ministry of Power for development of inter-state transmission lines recommended the setting up of the five new transmission lines with an estimated length of 2600 km through tariff based competitive bidding with private sector participation.

These lines will help in evacuation of power from the proposed coastal generation projects in Nagapattanam/ Cuddalore areas of Tamil Nadu and gas based generation projects in Vemagiri/ Rajamundry areas in Andhra Pradesh.
The Union Ministry of Power said that a number of transmission projects in different regions had earlier been awarded to successful private bidders.

The projects included scheme for enabling import of North-Eastern Region/ Eastern Region surplus by Northern Region; system strengthening common for Western and Northern Regions, system strengthening for Western Region, system strengthening in Northern and Western Regions associated with North Karanpura; Talcher-II Augmentation System and Transmission System associated with Krishnapattanam UMPP- Synchronous interconnection between southern and western regions (Part-B). These projects are expected to be completed during 12th Plan period.

Union Minister of Power Sushilkumar Shinde said that the approval for development of new transmission lines with the private sector participation will help in strengthening power transmission system in the country.
The Union Ministry of Power had issued guidelines in 2006, laying down a transparent procedure for facilitating competition in the transmission sector.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply