Home » Andhra Pradesh » Resignations of four rebel MLAs accepted

Resignations of four rebel MLAs accepted

Posted by on November 29, 2011 0 Comment

Assembly Speaker Nandendla Manohar on Monday accepted the resignations of four rebel MLAs of the Telugu Desam and the Congress and rejected 61 resignations submitted to him by the Congress, the TD and the Telangana Rashtra Samiti. He accepted the resignations of Congress rebel MLAs Jupally Krishnarao (Kollapur), Dr S. Rajaiah (Station Ghanpur), TD rebel MLAs Jogu Ramanna (Adilabad), and Gampa Govardhan (Kama-reddy).

The Speaker accepted these resignations after coming to know that these four legislators had not only resigned their membership of the Assembly but had also resigned from their parent parties and switched over to the TRS. The Speaker rejected all the pending resignations of 61 MLAs from various parties — the Congress, TD and the TRS. The Legislature Secretariat, however, did not say why they were rejected.

Speaker: MLAs not keen on quitting
Sources said the Speaker was of the view that the resignations of all the 61 MLAs was emotional and that when he had called each of them separately, except for those from the TRS, the others had told him that they were not pressing for acceptance of their resignations. Sources said the TRS members had faxed their resignation letters and neither insisted they be accepted, nor submitted fresh letters directly to the Speaker later. The Congress MLAs who gave their resignations were supporters of Kadapa MP Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy and were peeved at the inclusion of YSR’s name in the FIR issued by the CBI in the Jagan illegal assets’ case.

Latest Assembly tally
Congress 153
TD 86
PR 18
TRS 12
Majlis 7
Lok Satta 1
Independent 2
YSR Congress 1
Nominated 1
Vacant 7
Total 295 DC

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply