Home » Andhra Pradesh » Stop Metro Rail project till Telangana issue is resolved: Gaddar

Stop Metro Rail project till Telangana issue is resolved: Gaddar

Posted by on April 16, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad, April 16 : Telangana People’s Front president Gaddar and others here on Saturday appealed to all the political parties, organisations and individuals supporting formation of separate Telangana State to oppose the elevated metro rail project. They also warned that if the government wanted to forcibly execute the project, the people of Telangana would resist it with force and warned that the government and the L&T company would be held responsible for the consequences arising later.

In a statement, the Telangana leaders stated that there was no need to execute the metro rail project when the Telangana movement was at a crucial stage and suspected that there was a conspiracy to separate Hyderabad city from Telangana. “We demand that the metro project should not be taken up till Telangana issue was resolved. In a new State the Telangana people would decide what kind of metro project was needed”, they added.

Stating that several doubts have been raised on the project which cannot be brushed aside, they stated that the project cost has already reached Rs 16,375 crores and it may go up by many thousands of crores of rupees. They also stated that directly or indirectly, the people of the region would have to pay for this project. “We are not prepared to pay for the unethical and corrupt projects taken up by the present rulers,” they added.

Alleging that the main aim of the project was to grab about 280 acres of prime lands in the city, they pointed out that heritage experts have been raising the issue of serious defacement of heritage structures by this project. It was illegal to start the project works when two PILs (public interest litigation) were pending in the High Court against the metro rail project.

The TPF president Gaddar, State Human Rights Forum president S Jeevan Kumar, the CPI (ML-New Democracy) State committee member, Mr K Govardhan, the TPF vice-president, Mr M Vedakumar, the National Alliance of Peoples Movements State convenor, Mr B Ramakrishna Raju, and the Telangana Ikya Karyacharana Committee convenor, Mr Pasham Yadagiri were the signatories of the statement. (NSS)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply