Home » Cricket » 14 teams for 2015 cricket World Cup: ICC

14 teams for 2015 cricket World Cup: ICC

Posted by on June 28, 2011 0 Comment

According to the media report, the International Cricket Council is set to include four associate nations in the 2015 World Cup.

With the inclusion of four associate nations, the 2015 World Cup will be 14-team tournament like 2011.

The decision was taken on the third day of the ICC’s annual conference in Hong Kong. With this decision, Ireland, Netherlands, Canada and Kenya are set for the tournament along with 10 full time members for the World Cup 2015.

Earlier, the ICC had decided to restrict the mega event in 2015 to full members only (10 teams).

However, the decision had attracted huge criticism from the associate nations.

The ICC president Sharad Pawar raised the issue of Minnows with the board and asked to reconsider its decision.

In April 2011 during the World Cup, the ICC had taken the decision to limit the mega event to 10-teams due lengthy format and few one sided games. Agencies

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply