Home » Cricket » ICC admits to error in Dhoni dismissal

ICC admits to error in Dhoni dismissal

Posted by on July 1, 2011 0 Comment

The effective use of technology for arriving at the right decisions on the cricketing arena came under scrutiny after the ICC said than an error had resulted in India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni being dismissed off a no-ball.

The ICC said on Thursday: “The ICC can confirm that an error by the host broadcaster during day one of the second Test between the West Indies and India in Barbados led to the wrong replay being shown to the third umpire during a review of a no-ball.”

During India’s innings, Dhoni was out caught at mid-on off the bowling of Fidel Edwards in the 59th over. On-field umpire Ian Gould suspected that the delivery may have been a no-ball so, as per the correct protocols, he sought confirmation from the third umpire, Gregory Brathwaite.

The Indian camp had initially grown suspicious when there was a 40-second delay in the replay of the delivery in question being shown.

The ICC revealed: “Upon review, the delivery Brathwaite was shown by the host broadcaster was legitimate and so Dhoni was given out.

“It was subsequently established that Brathwaite had been shown the wrong replay and that the delivery that led to Dhoni’s dismissal should indeed have been called a no ball.”

Match referee Chris Broad said: “The host broadcaster for this series, IMG Media, acknowledged the mistake and has apologised.

“Having looked into the situation, I am satisfied it was an unfortunate but honest mistake in what is a tense and live environment.

“It is worth pointing out that the umpires followed the correct procedures and are without blame in this matter.”

Mr. Broad added: “Seeing as the game has continued, clearly there is no opportunity to reverse the decision.

“We are forced now put it behind us and move on with the remainder of the match.”

A spokesman for IMG said: “IMG Media takes its responsibilities on this matter very seriously.

“This was a case of human error, compounded by a senior replay operative having to return home at very short notice.”

As this series is not operating the Decision Review System, the enhanced standards, including the presence of an ICC technical official, is not in place as would be the case when DRS is used.

How the wrong decision handed out to Dhoni, dismissed for 2, would impact the course of what is likely to be low-scoring match? Hindu

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply