Home » Indian Premier League » CSK set KKR 154 runs to win

CSK set KKR 154 runs to win

Posted by on April 8, 2011 0 Comment

Kolkata’s Jacques Kallis broke the partnership between Srikkanth Anirudha and captain MS Dhoni to halt Chennai’s run-rate in 2011 IPL opener at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Friday.

However, Srikkanth Anirudha scored a brilliant fifty to take Chennai’s score past the 100-run-mark with captain MS Dhoni on the other end.

Raina played a slog sweep of an out side off stump Yusuf Pathan delivery straight into the hands of Sarabjit Ladda to reduce CSK to 80/2 in 10.3 overs.

Srikkanth Anirudha and Suresh Raina held the fort in the middle to boost Chennai Super Kings run-rate, with some lusty shots all over the park.

Click here to watch Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders from Chennai stadium

Kolkata Knight Riders started off their attack with spin as Iqbal Abdulla got rid of Chennai Super Kings opener Murali Vijay in the last ball of the very first over.


Earlier, Chennai Super Kings skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Friends turn into foes as Mahendra Singh Dhoni fights it out with Gautam Gambhir, in less than a week, after the duo guided India to their historic World Cup triumph in Mumbai.

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings came off best from the January auctions as they managed to retain a majority of their players even as other teams indulged in a drastic shake-up.

Also this will be the first time that the league will feature 10 teams with the inclusion of Pune Warriors and Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

Knight Riders are a case in point. They finished sixth out of eight teams in 2008 and 2010, and last in 2009 edition that was moved to South Africa in view of security issues.

Consequently, their captain for three seasons, Sourav Ganguly, does not even figure in the squad in any capacity with Delhi’s Gautam Gambhir, bought for a record $2.4 million, taking over the reins for 2011 season.

The Knight Riders, in fact, chose not to retain even a single player in an attempt to totally revamp their squad in contrast to the Super Kings who while retaining four – skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay and Albie Morkel – bought back 10.

Super Kings, the most consistent IPL team having reached the final in 2008, semifinals in 2009 and winning the trophy last year, have retained the core of their squad, including the support staff.


Chennai Super Kings : Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Albie Morkel, Shahdab Jakati, Tim Southee, Srikkanth Anirudha, S Badrinath, Scot Styris, Suraj Randiv.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (capt), Eoin Morgan, Yusuf Pathan, Manvinder Bisla, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Iqbal Abdulla, Rajat Bhatia, Laxmipathy Balaji, Sarabjit Ladda, Manoj Tiwary, Jacques Kallis. Agencies

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply