Home » Cricket » Windies in disarray as India take wickets

Windies in disarray as India take wickets

Posted by on June 13, 2011 0 Comment

Antigua: Praveen Kumar and Ishant Sharma gave India the perfect start as they got early West Indies wickets in the fourth ODI at the Vivian Richards stadium on Monday.

Kumar bowled three maidens on the trot and took the wicket of Ramnaresh Sarwan (1 off 12 balls) during the process. Sarwan slashed a wide delivery from Kumar into the hands of Manoj Tiwary, who was drafted in the side for Shikhar Dhawan, at the backward point.

Tiwary also grabbed the first Windies wicket when he pouched a simple catch of makeshift opener Danza Hyatt (1 off 4 balls). The right-hander was troubled by Ishant Sharma, who replaced Munaf Patel for Monday’s game, throughout his short stay at the crease before touching Sharma’s just short of a good length delivery to backward point.

Lendl Simmons struck few lusty blows off Sharma but Indians kept the home side under the pump throughout the first powerplay after India captain Suresh Raina won the toss and elected to bowl.

But Simmon continued his attacking batting in the bowling powerplay. He targeted Amit Mishra’s loopy leg-spin and hit him for two maximums over the long-on region.

Darren Bravo, who came back into the side after the first ODI, also got going in Brian Lara’s fashion, both in mannerism and play.

The classical let-hander hit two fours, first off Kumar and second off R Ashwin – who replaced Harbhajan Singh – in consecutive overs.

But after surviving a close run out scare, Bravo came down the track and hit Mishra’s ball to the hands of Tiwary – who took his third catch of the match gleefully.


West Indies:

LMP Simmons, DM Bravo, RR Sarwan, DP Hyatt, MN Samuels, KA Pollard, CS Baugh, DJG Sammy (capt), AD Russell, KAJ Roach, A Martin


PA Patel, V Kohli, S Badrinath, MK Tiwary, SK Raina (capt), RG Sharma, YK Pathan, P Kumar, R Ashwin, A Mishra, I Sharma

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply