Home » World Cup 2011 » Australia opt to field against New Zealand

Australia opt to field against New Zealand

Posted by on February 25, 2011 0 Comment

Nagpur, Feb 25 (IANS) Australian captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and opted to bowl against New Zealand in their Group A match of the World Cup at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium in Jamtha here Friday.

New Zealand have included Jamie How, who replaced Jacob Oram, while Australia retained the same 11 that won against Zimbabwe.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Shane Watson, David Hussey, Cameron White, Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Shaun Tait.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Brendan McCullum (wicketkeeper), Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, James Franklin, Scott Styris, Jamie How, Daniel Vettori (captain), Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Hamish Bennett.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Billy Doctrove (West Indies).

TV umpire: Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply