Home » World Cup 2011 » World Cup final: Sri Lanka win toss, bat against India

World Cup final: Sri Lanka win toss, bat against India

Posted by on April 2, 2011 0 Comment

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara has won the toss and elected to bat against India in the All-Asia final of the World Cup 2011 here at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday.

Both teams are chasing their second World Cup trophy.

India made one change from the side that beat Pakistan in the semi-final, bringing in fast bowler Shanthakumaran Sreesanth in place of the injured Ashish Nehra.

Star spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, despite niggling hamstring and knee injuries, was declared fit to play in the final, which will be the last match of his international career.

Sri Lanka made four changes after the semi-final against New Zealand.

Batsman Chamara Kapugedera, all-rounder Thisara Perera, off-spinner Suraj Randiv and seamer Nuwan Kulasekera replaced Chamara Silva, the injured Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis.

Randiv had only been called into the squad on Thursday as cover.

The toss had to take place twice after no one heard the call from Sangakkara first time around.

Teams batting first have won seven of the nine finals since the inaugural World Cup in 1975.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin

Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Munaf Patel. Agencies

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply