Home » Cricket » Yuvraj will captain Pune Warriors in IPL 4

Yuvraj will captain Pune Warriors in IPL 4

Posted by on March 8, 2011 0 Comment

Lucknow, March 8 (IANS) Yuvraj Singh was Tuesday named the captain of Pune Warriors for the fourth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Yuvraj, who is having a good World Cup so far, is one of the four domestic players in the side. The other three are Ashish Nehra, Robin Uthappa and Murali Karthik.

“The 30 member Sahara’s Pune Warriors squad will be lead by Captain of the team Mr. Yuvraj Singh,” said a Pune Warriors release.

The new franchise also bought 10 foreign players during the IPL auction. Some of the international cricketers include South African captain Graeme Smith, Sri Lankan all-rounder Angelo Matthews and New Zealand batsman Jesse Ryder.

The major chunk of the 30-member squad comprise 16 uncapped players from the domestic circuit.

The IPL 4 kicks off April 8, a week after the World Cup final in Mumbai.

The squad:

Domestic capped: Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Robin Uthappa and Murali Karthik

Domestic uncapped: Manish Pandey, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Mohnish Mishra, Kamran Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Shreekant Wagh, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harshad Khadiwale, Shrikant Mundhe, Sachin Rana, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Imtiyaz Ahmad, Mithun Minhas, Eklavya Dwivedi.

Foreign players: Graeme Smith, Angelo Mathews, Tim Paine, Nathan McCullum, Callum Ferguson, Wayne Parnell, Mitchelle Marsh, Jesse Ryder, Jerome Taylor, Alfonso Thomas.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply