Home » Hyderabad, Top News » 30 Telangana-legislators, 11 AP ministers to quit today

30 Telangana-legislators, 11 AP ministers to quit today

Posted by on July 4, 2011 0 Comment

Eleven ministers and 30 Congress legislators from Telangana are expected to submit their resignations at 11 am on Monday, in their pursuit for statehood for the region. The ministers will only be submitting their resignation to the House, and not to their ministerial berths.

The panchayati raj minister, Mr K. Jana Reddy, told newsmen that there is no change on their plans; their talks with the chief minister, Mr Kiran Kumar Reddy, and the PCC president, Mr Botsa Satyanarayana, did not yield any result.

The ministers who are expected to resign are Mr K. Jana Reddy, Mr Komatireddy Venkata Reddy, Mr R.Venkata Reddy, Mr Basavaraju Saraiah, Ponnala Laxmaiah, Ms D.K. Aruna, Ms Sabita Indra Reddy, Ms Suneeta Laxma Reddy, Dr J. Geeta Reddy, P. Sudarshan Reddy and D. Sridhar Babu.

The ministers and the legislators will proceed to the Assembly and hand over the letters of resignation to the House either to the Deputy Speaker, Mr Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, or to the Legislature secretary, Mr Raja Sadaram, along with the Congress MLAs. The Speaker, Mr N. Manohar, will return from his US trip after July 8.

Mr Venkat Reddy said they would decide later on resigning from their ministries later. The contention is that resigning from the Assembly would amount to the same thing.

The deputy chief minister, Mr Damodar Raja Narasimha (Medak), Dr P. Shanker Rao, Mr Danam Nagender and Mr Mukesh Kumar Goud (Hyderabad) will not resign.

According to the Medchal MLA, Mr K. Laxma Reddy, 30 of the party’s 40 T-legislators, barring 10 from Hyderabad and Ranga Reddy, will resign from the House. Twelve MLCs will submit their resignations to the Legislative Council chairman, Dr A. Chakrapani. Asian Age

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply