Home » Hyderabad, Top News » All TRS MLAs quit in support of separate Telangana

All TRS MLAs quit in support of separate Telangana

Posted by on July 5, 2011 0 Comment

Following en masse resignation of Congress and TDP MLAs from Telangana region, all 11 MLAs of Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) on Tuesday resigned from their posts on the separate statehood demand .

Led by their floor leader in the Assembly E Rajender, five TRS legislators submitted their resignations to the Legislature Secretary as both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker were not available.

Three other TRS MLAs, who were out of Hyderabad , faxed their resignations, while the three suspended MLAs of the party submitted their resignations later in the Assembly.

“Our intention is to build pressure on the Centre on the statehood issue by creating a crisis with the resignation of more than 100 MLAs,” Rajender said.

TRS MLA and party president K Chandrasekhar Rao’s son K T Rama Rao told PTI that the Congress government in the state had no right to continue in office as the legislators from Telangana have quit en masse.

CPI Deputy General Secretary S Sudhakar Reddy said his party, which has four MLAs, would decide on resignations after the party’s state secretary K Narayana would return from abroad.

The CPI MLAs have indicated that they are ready to quit their posts for Telangana.

81 MLAs and 10 MPs from Telangana quit their posts yesterday in support of the separate statehood demand. Economic Times

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply