Home » Hyderabad » Central Wakf Council constitutes sub-panels

Central Wakf Council constitutes sub-panels

Posted by on July 28, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: The Central Wakf Council, functioning under the aegis of the Ministry of Minority Affairs, has constituted 4 Sub-Committees to transact business regarding the monitoring of the programmes of the Council, administrative and financial matters, implementation of the Scheme for the Development of Urban Wakf Properties and Educational schemes of the Council.

These four Sub-Committees are Planning and Advisory, Education and Women Welfare, Wakf Development and Monitoring Committees.

These Committees have been constituted in accordance with the decision taken in the 57th meeting of the Central Wakf Council held earlier this month under the Chairmanship of Union Minister of Minority Affairs Salman Khurshid. That meeting had authorized the Chairman of the Council to constitute the four Committees.

Each Committee has a Chairperson and four Members.

Retired Justice S Haider Abbas Raza has been nominated as the Chairperson of the Planning and Advisory Committee; former IAS officer Yasmin Ahmed will head the Education and Women Welfare Committee; Prof Saifuddin Soz, has been designated as the Chairperson of the Wakf Development Committee; and MP Syed Shahnawaz Hussainhas been assigned the Chairmanship of the Monitoring Committee.

Chairperson of the Education and Women Welfare Committee is also an ex-officio Member of Maulana Azad Education Foundation.

The Central Wakf Council normally meets twice in a year. However, the Committees of the Council meet as often as possible to transact business.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply