Home » Hyderabad » Chiru Greeted By Hostile Telangana Protestors On Tankbund

Chiru Greeted By Hostile Telangana Protestors On Tankbund

Posted by on March 11, 2011 1 Comment

Hyderabad: The Praja Rajyam party founder-president, Mr K Chiranjeevi, here on Friday, was greeted by the hostile Telangana activists on the Tank Bund.

When the actor-turned politician went to Tank Bund and inspecting the pedestals of demolished statues of historic figures who brought glory to Telugus, Telangana activists mobbed him and raised slogans saying “Telangana Traitor Go Back”. As the situation turned tense, police personnel tried to control the crowd. As the protestors remained aggressive and shouted at Mr Chiranjeevi to go back, the police resorted to lathi-charge and chased them away.

Talking to mediapersons later, Mr Chiranjeevi condemned the demolition of the statues of the Telugu legendaries and described March 10, the day of Million March as “Black Day” in the history. He also demanded that the government take immediate steps to reinstall the statues in their original places. He also declared that he would himself take up the task of restoring the statues on Tank Bund if the authorities concerned failed to do so.

It may be mentioned here that defying police and prohibitory order in the city, the Telangana agitators, who forcibly converged at Tank Bund on Friday in connection with the Million March called by the Telangana Political JAC, went berserk and demolished 16 statues of literary giants and eminent personalities in history like emperor of Vijayanagara kingdom Srikrishna Devaraya, British engineer who built Dowleswaram Barrage across the river Godavari Sir Arthur Cotton, saint-composer thousands of immortal songs Tallapaka Annamacharya, great social reformer Kandukuri Veeresalingam, reformist poet and writer Gurajada Apparao, Yerrapragada, Raghupathi Venkatratnam Naidu, Siddendra Yogi, Palanati Brahma Naidu, Mutnuri Krishna Rao, Tripuraneni Ramaswamy Choudhary and Ballari Raghava. Shatavahana king Shalivahana, Nannaya Battarka, Yogi Vemana, Kshetrayya, Sri Sri, Jashua and C R Reddy. (NSS)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply