Home » Hyderabad » Cong, MIM maintain grip on GHMC’s Standing Committee

Cong, MIM maintain grip on GHMC’s Standing Committee

Posted by on June 8, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: The Congress and Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen parties maintained their grip on the Standing Committee of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, by successfully thwarting the Telugu Desam Party’s challenge and capturing all the 15 seats contested on Wednesday.

The Congress managed to win eight seats while its ally, the MIM captured the remaining seven.

It may be remembered that Labour Minister and Greater Hyderabad Congress president Danam Nagender had personally met each of his party Corporators to ensure that the TDP’s efforts to at least get one member on board the Standing Committee is defeated.

The TDP, which has 44 Corporators in the Corporation, was counting on crossvoting by some of the Congress’s 63 or the MIM’s 42 Corporators.

However, Mr Nagender’s direct involvement apparently bore fruit and despite some Corporators resorting to cross-voting, the TDP did not manage to pull off a coup.

G Vengal Rao, B Chandramma, R Sheshagiri, G Rajkumar, R Kalpana Yadav, AR Prasanna Kumari, Rajana Devi Goyal and Diddi Rambabu of the Congress party were declared elected as the new Standing Committee members by Additional Commissioner (Administration) P Sai Kumar.

Mohammed Zakir Baqueri, Mirza Riyaz-ul-Hassan Effendi, Khaja Bilal Ahmed, MA Ghaffar, B Ravi Yadav, Mansoor bin Mohammed Awalgi and Syed Abdul Haq Nazeer were the MIM’s winning candidates.

Interestingly, Mr Diddi Rambabu and Singi Reddy Dhanpal Reddy had managed to get 76 votes each, and the former was selected through a draw of lots.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply