Home » Hyderabad » Deputy CM not to resign

Deputy CM not to resign

Posted by on July 4, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: The Congress ministers and legislators will proceed to the Assembly and hand over the letters of resignation to the House either to the Deputy Speaker, Mr Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, or to the Legislature Secretary, Mr Raja Sadaram, along with the Congress MLAs. The Speaker, Mr N. Manohar, will return from his US trip after July 8. Mr Venkat Reddy said they would decide later on resigning from their ministerships. The contention is that resigning from the Assembly would amount to the same thing.

The Deputy Chief Minister, Mr Damodar Raja Narasimha (Medak), Dr P. Shanker Rao, Mr Danam Nagender and Mr Mukesh Kumar Goud (Hyderabad) will not resign.

According to the Medchal MLA, Mr K. Laxma Reddy, 30 of the party’s 40 T-legislators, barring 10 from Hyderabad and Ranga Reddy, will resign from the House. Twelve MLCs will submit their resignations to the Legislative Council Chairman, Dr A. Chakrapani. There is no timeframe for the presiding officers to accept the resignation of legislators. Rule 186 of the Assembly only stipulates mandatory procedure and acceptance of the resignations.

Meanwhile, security to Telangana ministers, MPs and MLAs has been stepped up in the wake of threat from agitators that they would attack those who don’t submit their resignation. The director-general of police, Mr V. Dinesh Reddy, on Sunday met the Chief Minister, Mr N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, at the camp office and discussed the law and order situation in Telangana. At least five sub-inspector aspirants went on fasting demanding scrapping of 14(f) in Presidential Order. Deccan Chronicle

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply