Home » Hyderabad, Top News » Jagan takes Oath as Lok Sabha Member

Jagan takes Oath as Lok Sabha Member

Posted by on August 4, 2011 0 Comment

New Delhi: YSR Congress Party president YS Jaganmohan Reddy was on Thursday sworn in as the Member of Lok Sabha from Kadapa at 11.01 AM in the Central Hall. Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar administered the Oath.

Mr Jaganmohan Reddy took the Oath in his mother tongue Telugu and in the name of God.

Apart from his wife Bharati and other family members who were watching the proceedings from the Visitors’ Gallery, a large number of his supporters, waving party flags were gathering outside the Parliament house on the momentous occasion, since it was the formal entry of the YSR Congress Party in Parliament.

Leader of the Opposition in the House Sushma Swaraj, senior Bharatiya Janata Party leaders L K Advani and Yashwant Sinha and other opposition Members congratulated Mr Jaganmohan Reddy.

Incidentally, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, All India Congress Committee president Sonia Gandhi and Union Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee were not present in the House when Mr Jaganmohan Reddy came to the Lok Sabha to take the Oath.

Earlier, his loyalist MPs Sabbam Hari and Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy accompanied him to Speaker’s podium.

Mr Jaganmohan Reddy had won a landslide victory in the by-elections to the Kadapa Lok Sabha constituency with a record margin of 5,21,000 votes. The by-elections, held in May this year, were necessitated after Mr Jaganmohan Reddy resigned from the Lok Sabha as well as from the primary membership of the Congress party after being denied permission to take out his Odarpu Yatra.

The Odarpu Yata is a tour to console the families of those who died of shock or committed suicides in the aftermath of the death of former chief minister and Mr Jaganmohan Reddy’s father, YS Rajasekhara Reddy.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply