Home » Hyderabad » Moves to bring in Privilege Motion against Lagadapati gather pace

Moves to bring in Privilege Motion against Lagadapati gather pace

Posted by on June 29, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: Moves to bring a Privilege Motion against Vijayawada MP Lagadapati Rajagopal in reaction to his observation that the controversial Clause 14 F of the Presidential Order of 1975 cannot be deleted gathered pace on Wednesday when a delegation of elected representatives from Telangana region, representing all the political parties, submitted a memorandum to Speaker Nadendla Manohar, urging him to issue a notice in this regard.

The delegation of elected representatives met Mr Manohar at his residence and pointed out to him that Mr Rajagopal had ‘insulted’ the state Assembly by speaking against the resolution adopted by the House.

Congress leader from Telangana Damodar Reddy told media persons after meeting Mr Manohar that the delegation had urged the Speaker to issue a notice for the breach of Assembly Privilege to Mr Rajagopal.

Mr Damodar Reddy said the Telangana leaders have appealed to Speaker to take action against Mr Rajagopal and charged him of disrespecting the established democratic principles.

The Congress leader further said that the elected representatives from Telangana would also petition Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, seeking Mr Rajagopal’s disqualification from the Parliament for not respecting the democratic norms.

Mr Rajagopal had stirred a hornets’ nest earlier in the week by saying that the controversial Clause 14 (F) in the Presidential Order cannot be deleted.

Mr Damodar Reddy revealed that the delegation had submitted media clippings as evidence to Mr Manohar as proof of their complaint stated in the memorandum.

TRS leaders Etela Rajender and Harishwar Rao, R Damodar Reddy from Congress, Harishwar Reddy from the TDP, G Mallesh from CPI and Lakshminarayana from BJP were part of the delegation.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply