Home » Hyderabad » MPs brush aside overtures, blame HC for resignations

MPs brush aside overtures, blame HC for resignations

Posted by on July 4, 2011 0 Comment

New Delhi: The nine Congress MPs who resigned from their seats for the cause of Telangana statehood remained unmoved by the party High Command’s overtures on Monday, saying that they were forced to resort to the step as the Centre had failed to honour its promise on the bifurcation demand.

Talking to media persons here at a joint press conference with other MPs, Rajya Sabha Member K Kesava Rao, who had tendered his resignation to the Officer on Special Duty to the Upper House Chairman Hamid Ansari earlier in the morning and submitted his resignation, said that nine MPs of the Congress party have so far submitted their resignations from Parliament as part of their attempt to intensify the struggle to achieve Telangana.

Three Congress Lok Sabha Members from Telangana are yet to tender their resignations, besides three Members of the Upper House of Parliament.

Lok Sabha Members S Jaipal Reddy, Sarvey Satyanarayana and Anjan Kumar Yadav, and Rajya Sabha Members V Hanumantha Rao, Sanjiva Reddy and Nandi Yellaiah are yet to resign.

Mr Kesava Rao, responding on Union Home Minister P Chidambaram’s statement made earlier in the day that the Centre is making efforts to build a consensus on Telangana, said that the comment was like ‘old wine in new bottle.’

“What is stopping the Centre for going ahead with the all-party meeting on Telangana? There is no need to delay the all-party meeting if one party does not turn up. The government can go ahead begin the process for formation of Telangana state,” the Rajya Sabha Member said.

He added that the Congress had entered into an electoral alliance with the Telangana Rashtra Samithi in the 2004 general elections, agreeing to the separate Telangana demand and won the polls with a huge majority.

“The Telangana issue was also included in the UPA’s election manifesto,” Dr Kesava Rao stated.

MP Manda Jagannadham demanded that the Centre honour the statement made on December 9, 2009 by Mr Chidambaram.

Mr Jagannadham added that there was no significant meaning in the statement made earlier in the day by party In-Charge of Andhra Pradesh Affairs Ghulam Nabi Azad that the opinion of all regions should be taken to arrive at a decision on the issue.

MP Rajaiah said that the Centre either announce a separate Telangana state or accept their resignations.

The MPs who submitted resignations include G Vivek, Ponnam Prabhakar, Manda Jagannadham, G Sukhender Reddy and Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy.

MPs Madhu Yaskhi Goud and Balram Nayak submitted their resignations through fax.

Earlier, when the MPs had sat on a dharna after Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar left her Chambers after they arrived late for their appointment. They submitted their resignations in the afternoon.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply