Home » Hyderabad » Pudaraju, Ganga Bhavani Renominated To Council

Pudaraju, Ganga Bhavani Renominated To Council

Posted by on March 1, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: The Congress party has announced its candidates for the ensuing MLC elections.
Candidates from nine districts, excluding Kadapa, have been announced. The sitting MLCs, Mr Gidugu Rudraraju and Ms Ganga Bhavani, have been re-nominated for another term. Those lucky enough to get Council nomination included some who have contested and got defeated in the Assembly elections. However, the PCC chief, Mr D Srinivas, was not given party nomination.

New candidates have been named in the districts other than East, West Godavari and Anantapur districts. In Srikakulam Viswa Prasad, in East Godavari Gidugu Rudraraju and in West Godavari Ms Ganga Bhavani (sitting) got renominations. Vakati Narayana Reddy has been named from Nellore and Naresh Kumar Reddy from Chittoor. Patil Venugopal Reddy from Anantapur and S V Mohan Reddy from Kurnool have been named party candidates.

Mr Gidugu Rudraraju got re-nomination as he was recommended by the Chief Minister and several ministers. Likewise, Ms Ganga Bhavani has also received the ticket because of the recommendation of several ministers. In Nellore, Vakati Narayana Reddy got the party ticket despite stiff competition from Bommireddy Raghavender Redddy. According to information, Narayana Reddy had the recommendation of former chief minister, Mr Nedurumilli Janardhana Reddy.

In Kadapa, it was said that the name of Mr Varadarajulu Reddy, former MLA, was already finalized. However, it was kept pending.

Meanwhile, the Congress candidate of Anantapur, Mr Patil Narayana Reddy, filed his nomination on Monday, even before his name was announced by the party.

In Kurnool, Mr S V Mohan Reddy got the party ticket as his father S V Subba Reddy is a close associate of the Chief Minister, Mr N. Kiran Kumar Reddy. Mr Mohana Reddy had unsuccessfully contested as Congress candidate from Pattikonda in 2009. Mr Gangula Prabhakara Reddy camped in New Delhi and tried in vain for this seat. Former MLA, Mr Bijjam Parthasarathi Reddy also tried for the ticket. (NSS)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply