Home » Hyderabad » Snubbed by high command, Congress MPs return home

Snubbed by high command, Congress MPs return home

Posted by on July 8, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: Telangana Congress MPs who have submitted their resignations returned to Hyderabad on Thursday and are mulling their next course of action in the wake of the unsympathetic attitude of the party high command to their unilateral actions in pursuance of their demand for a separate state.

In public, however, the leaders insisted that they could not go back on their resignations. Rajya Sabha MP K Keshava Rao said: “there will be no rethinking on the resignations. The resignations by more than 100 elected representatives for a cause is unparalleled in history. Nowhere in the world has such a step been taken. ” He said the unity of the Telangana leaders on the issue of separate state was unprecedented and unbreakable. Gutha Sukhender Reddy, MP from Nalgonda, said the question of taking back the resignation does not arise till the separate Telangana was formed. Denying the media reports that the T-Congress was a divided house, Sukhender Reddy said all the Congress MLAs and MPs had been working with the single-minded goal of achieving the Telangana state.

After landing in Hyderabad on Thursday evening, the six Congress MPs drove down to panchayat raj minister K jana Reddy’s residence and held talks on their next course of action.

“With the Congress high command having disapproved of their toeing the line of the TRS and the Telangana Political JAC, the Congress leaders are at their wit’s end with regard to their future course of action. They cannot take back their resignations in the wake of no assurance from the high command. In such circumstances, they are hoping that the Lok Sabha speaker delays taking a decision on their resignations as much as possible,”said Congress sources.

In the meantime, the Telangana Congress MLAs too maintained a low profile on Thursday. Apart from meeing the Congress MPs, Jana Reddy also had a meeting with Telangana Political JAC convenor M Kodandaram.

None of the Telangana ministers who resigned attended office on Thursday while most of the Seema-Andhra ministers too, except for Botsa Satyanarayana, Vatti Vasant Kumar, Kanna Lakshminarayana and Anam ramnarayan Reddy, preferred to stay away. TOI

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply