Home » Hyderabad » Speaker, Dy Speaker election today: TDP in fray

Speaker, Dy Speaker election today: TDP in fray

Posted by on June 3, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: The Assembly will start its special session called for the election of the long pending posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker at 1100 hrs on Saturday.

In a day of quick changing developments, the main Opposition TDP, after long vacillation, has finally decided to contest for both posts. The party has chosen experienced legislators Mr. K E Krishna Murty and Mr. Suddala Devaiah for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker posts respectively.

At one stage, the TDP senior leaders have reportedly argued with the party supremo Mr. Chandrababu Naidu not to field candidates for these two posts as the party has no numerical strength to win. However, Mr Naidu has decided that the party should contest as it would be unwise to cooperate with the government to get the elections unanimous.

Mr. Naidu is believed to have told his senior colleagues that it would be double attack on the government and even if they could defeat the government in the Speaker’s election it would be a defeat for the government.

However, according to information, the no-confidence motion of the TDP might not be taken up on the opening session of the Assembly which would be totally devoted to the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker. According to Rules, a no-confidence motion should be taken up for debate and voting within ten days of the receipt of the notice. As the notice was served on June 2, there will be time till the June 12 to take up the motion. As such, the sessions of both the Houses might be closed on Saturday after the elections. Election of the Chairman of the Legislative Council would be held at 4 pm on Saturday. So far, Mr Chakrapani of Congress, the former Chairman, is the only candidate in the fray.

Mr Nadendla Manohar, who was selected for the Speaker’s post, went to the camp office of the Chief Minister, Mr. N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, and took his blessings. From there, he drove to the Assembly and filed his nomination.

Though the no-confidence motion might not be taken up in the House, there is bound to be chaos in the House as the Opposition might try to force admission of the no-confidence motion on the same day. The Opposition is also keen that a thorough debate on the functioning of the government should also be taken up before the motion was put to vote. Meanwhile, the YSR Congress Party called upon the Congress MLAs (supporting Jagan) to vote as per their conscience. Party spokesperson, Mr Konatala Rama Krishna, told the media on Friday that his party had only one MLA, Ms Vijaya Lakshmi and she would vote against the government. When asked about the claim of the party chief, Mr Jagan that his party was capable of dislodging the government any minute it chose, Mr Rama Krishna said they were giving a call to all the MLAs to vote as per their conscience.

According to the information, Mr Jagan has called a meeting of his party MLAs on Saturday morning to discuss the issue of no-confidence motion. His move would depend on how many Congress MLAs would attend that meeting.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply