Home » Hyderabad » TDP MLAs, leaders held in Secretariat

TDP MLAs, leaders held in Secretariat

Posted by on May 21, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: The police on Saturday arrested the Telugu Desam Party MLAs and party functionaries when they staged a sit-in at the C-block which houses the Chief Minister’s Office in the Secretariat demanding purchase of paddy from farmers at minimum support price (MSP).

The TDP leaders dumped a heap of paddy at the C block and raised slogans against the government’s failure in procuring paddy from farmers.

Speaking on the occasion, the TDP senior MLA, Mr Errabelli Dayakar Rao, said that farmers were resorting to distress sale in some areas. He reminded that the farmers were burning the stocks and dumping it in canals as they were unable to sell their produce. He also alleged that the State government was not in a position to supply adequate number of gunny bags to farmers to stock the paddy.

The TDP MLAs, Mr L Ramana, Mr K E Prabhakar and Mr Vijayarama Rao and the MP, Mr Ramesh Rathode and others were among the leaders who staged a dharna in the Secretariat. As the TDP leaders continued their protest, the police arrested them and shifted to Saifabad Police Station. They continued their stir even in the police station. (NSS)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply