Home » Hyderabad » TDP prepares to give tough fight to Congress in LB polls

TDP prepares to give tough fight to Congress in LB polls

Posted by on June 14, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: Even as the state government is awaiting a High Court’s ruling on the conducting of elections to Local Bodies, the main opposition party, the Telugu Desam Party has announced that it aims to give a tough fight to the Congress and capture as many seats as possible.

TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday told media persons after launching a two-day workshop `Medho Madana Sadasu’ at NTR Trust Bhavan, that the party has decided to appoint one in-charge each for all Assembly constituencies and two in-charges for each Parliamentary constituency in the state as part of the party’s measures to ensure its win.

The TDP chief also demanded that the government implement reservation to Backward Class communities in the local bodies based on their population. “If needed, the government should amend the law to increase their quota in local bodies,” Mr Naidu demanded.

He further alleged that former chief minister YS Rajasekhara Reddy had diverted the funds released for the SC/STs development to other programmes.

The TDP chief also called upon his party cadre to make concerted efforts for strengthening the party at grassroots level to effectively take on the ruling party in the impending local body elections.

Claiming that the Telugu Desam Party is the only alternative to the Congress in the state, Mr Naidu revealed that the `Medho Madana Sadasu’ has discussed how to strengthen party and future course of agitation to be adopted on public issues.

He said the party has dedicated to take up agitations on public issues at state level, besides seeking the support of National level parties.

Slamming the Bharatiya Janata party for its failure in functioning as effective Opposition at National level, Mr Naidu said due to its inefficiency, the Congress party has involved in rampant corruption.

The meeting was attended by prominent party leaders including Telangana Forum Convener Errabelli Dayakar Rao, senior leader Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, Nandamuri Harikrishna, MPs, MLAs, politburo members and district in-charges.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply