Home » Hyderabad » TDP to move no-trust motion

TDP to move no-trust motion

Posted by on November 19, 2011 0 Comment

The opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) on Friday said it would move a no-confidence motion against the Kiran Kumar Reddy government on the first day of the winter session of the state assembly slated to begin in the first week of December.

“The TDP will move the notrust motion on the first day of the session by giving notice one hour before its commencement. We hope that the TRS, YSR Congress and ruling party legislators owing allegiance to Y S Jaganmohan Reddy will support the motion and help us topple the Kiran regime,” TDP politburo member Yanamala Ramakrishnudu told TOI. However, the move is not likely to pose a threat to the Kiran Kumar government as the numbers game in the assembly is heavily loaded in its favour.

The current strength of the 294-member assembly is 291 due to the death of one legislator and resignations of two others. The Congress strength after the merger of Prajarajyam party has shot up to 174 while that of the TDP has been reduced to 85 due to the resignations of N Prasanna Kumar Reddy and Nagam Janardhan Reddy and defection Pocharam Srinivas Reddy to TRS.

Srinivas Reddy subsequently contested successfully from Banswada bypoll. For the TDP to get the noconfidence motion passed and bring down the Kiran regime, it would need half toe votes of those present and voting in the assembly. Assuming all the members take part in the voting, the number required would be 146. Even if the 24 Congress MLAs who had submitted their resignations in protest against the inclusion of YS Rajasekhara Reddy’s name in the FIR registered by the CBI in the Jagan assets case decide to support the motion, the TDP will still fall short.

The 7 MIM MLAs are allies of the Congress. Further, given the current animosity between the two parties, there is no guarantee that the 12 TRS MLAs would support the noconfidence motion moved by the TDP. Similar is the case with the lone YSR Congress MLA Vijayamma as it was she who had moved the AP High Court with regard to the assets of Chandrababu Naidu. Even if the two BJP members, four CPI and one each of CPM and Loksatta support the motion, the TDP will still fall short by at least 20 to 30 votes. On the contrary, the CM camp has welcomed the TDP move.

“Once the motion is moved and defeated, Kiran Kumar can blissfully govern as no such motion can be moved for another six months,” said a Kiran-loyalist MLA.TOI

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply