Home » Hyderabad » Telangana activists to face arrests in cases

Telangana activists to face arrests in cases

Posted by on August 4, 2011 0 Comment

In what could be another indication that the government was tightening the screws on pro-Telangana agitators, police are preparing the ground to arrest Telangana JAC convenor Prof Kodandaram and three TRS MLAs in connection with a public meeting which was held last year in violation of the prohibitory orders. In another development, 13 TRS leaders were arrested here on Wednesday for their involvement in the attack on the house of TDP MLA. They were released on bail in the evening.

The Warangal cops are planning to arrest Kodandaram and TRS MLAs — Harish Rao, Etela Rajender and D Vinaya Bhaskar — for violating Police Act 30. They were booked under Sections 143, 290 and 196 of IPC. Sources said the police would press ahead with the charges as the TRS MLAs along with Kodandaram conducted a public meeting at the martyrs’ memorial at Adalath junction despite prohibitory orders on March 24, 2010. “A police team would go to Hyderabad to take these leaders into custody,” a senior police official said.

Earlier in the day, TRS Warangal district convenor Peddi Sudarshan Reddy and 12 leaders were taken into custody on the charges that they had taken part in the attack on Palakurthy MLA Errabelli Dayakar Rao’s (TDP) residence here on May 25. Sudarshan and others were booked under Sections 147, 435, 427 read with 149 of IPC and section 7(1) and produced before the fourth additional judicial first class magistrate.

Among the arrested include Telangan Graduates Association state president Marri Yadava Reddy, TRS politburo member Ramagalla Parameshwar, TRS youth district chief Indla Nageshwar Rao, party leaders B Bharathkumar Reddy, Bollam Rakesh, Kotha Vishnuvardhan Reddy, Juni Darshan Singh, Lingampalli Kishan Rao, Marupalli Ravi, Nagurla Venkateshwarlu and former ZTPC members Marneni Ravinder Rao and Banoth Harinath Singh. The judge later granted them bail.

Former ZP vice-chairman Muluguri Bikshapathi and three other TRS leaders, who also took part in the attack on Errabelli’s house, are absconding and yet to be arrested.

Sources said Sudarshan along with five student leaders was booked in another case for attacking Subedari station house officer Venkateshwara Babu. He was charged under Sections 147, 353, 352 read with 149 of IPC. Student leaders — Vasudeva Reddy, Veerender, J Ramesh, G Srinivas Reddy and Mahesh – who were sent to Warangal prison on Tuesday for the attack on minister Ponnala Lakshmaiah were booked in the case along with Sudarshan.

Sources said the Hanamkonda police were also preparing the ground to arrest these student leaders on Thursday for their role in the attacks on the Congress party office in Hanamkonda in the last one year.

All these developments came close on the heels of arrest of 13 Kakatiya University students on Tuesday and summons to TRS MLAs Harish Rao and three others in connection with the assault on AP Bhavan official in Delhi. TOI

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply