Home » Hyderabad » Telangana Cong leaders fail to decide to resubmit resignations

Telangana Cong leaders fail to decide to resubmit resignations

Posted by on July 24, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: Congress MLAs from Telangana on Sunday failed to decide whether to resubmit their resignations Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar, leaving a decision on the subject till after their scheduled meeting with Congress In-Charge of Andhra Pradesh Affairs Ghulam Nabi Azad in New Delhi on Monday evening.

Talking to media persons after emerging out of a crucial Telangana Congress Steering Committee meeting at Minister K Jana Reddy’s residence, party MP Gutta Sukhender Reddy avoided mentioning if the Congress MLAs would resubmit their resignations which were rejected by Mr Manohar late on Saturday evening.

He, however, said that the Steering Committee has taken a unanimous decision to meet again on Monday to discuss how best to push for the separate statehood demand during their stay in New Delhi.

“We will meet again on Monday to discuss our future course of action on Telangana,” Mr Sukhender Reddy said.

He was careful to state that all MPs, Ministers, MLAs and MLCs would attend the meeting, since only 14 Legislators attended today’s crucial meeting.

This meeting assumed importance as it was designed to formulate the action plan after Mr Azad gave the Telangana Congress Steering Committee an appointment for discussions on Monday evening.

Referring to the rejection of the MLAs’ resignation, Mr Sukhender Reddy termed the Speaker’s decision as `unfortunate.’

However, he added that the party’s elected representatives are not too disturbed by the Speaker’s decision. “We will continue to agitate for the cause of statehood,” the MP said.

“We had not submitted our resignations in the emotionally surcharged atmosphere as mentioned by the Speaker. We resigned for the formation of Telangana state and for fulfilling the aspirations and sentiments of the region’s people. There was no hidden agenda behind our resignations,” he stated.

He also rubbished the allegations of some Telangana leaders that the High Command had a hand behind the Speaker’s decision.

“The Speaker took the decision to reject the resignations as per the procedure laid down in the Constitution,” Mr Sukhender Reddy said.

MP G Vivek and MLA T Rajaiah said the Telangana Congress leaders would hoist Telangana flags in all villages at 11 AM on July 26.

MP Madhu Yaskhi said the Centre was very serious on the Telangana issue. He asked the Telangana leaders to remain united and agitate relentlessly for separate statehood. Mr Yaskhi Goud that some alleged vested elements are resorting to agitations to get mileage on resignations.

“We are ready to sacrifice anything for the cause of statehood,” the MP said and asked the leaders to stop political dramas. “Only through dialogue the Centre can find a solution to the problem,” Mr Yaskhi Goud stated.

Rajya Sabha Member V Hanumantha Rao, Lok Sabha Member Manda Jagganatham, MLAs Prathap Reddy, B Goud, Rajaiah, Jupally Krishna Rao, G Venkataramana Reddy, Basavraj Saraiah and MLC Yadav Reddy attended the Steering Committee meeting.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply