Home » Hyderabad » Telangana Congress leaders in a fix over resignations

Telangana Congress leaders in a fix over resignations

Posted by on July 25, 2011 0 Comment

Faced with allegation from the Telangana forum of the TDP that the region’s Congress leaders had struck a deal with the party high command on the resignations issue, the ruling party leaders met here on Sunday but were divided over their next course of action.

Of the 10-odd Telangana Congress MPs and MLAs that met at panchayat raj minister K Jana Reddy’s residence in the evening, some advocated submitting the quit letters to the party high command this time around, while another group wanted to give the resignations again to the assembly Speaker’s office.

A final decision would be taken after the T Congress steering committee meets Azad in Delhi on Monday, party sources told TOI.

Even within the Congress, some leaders expressed the possibility of Rajya Sabha MP K Keshava Rao and Jana Reddy having agreed for the bail-out during their meeting with Azad last week.

“By rejecting the resignations in toto, the Speaker has given time for the Telangana Congress leaders to wriggle out of the corner they had pushed themselves into with their resignations. Now, the Speaker can take another month or so to take a new decision on the resignations that are likely to be submitted again by various Telangana MLAs,” said party sources.

Another theory doing the rounds in the state Congress circles is that by making the Speaker reject the resignations, the high command has given an opportunity to the Telangana Congress leaders to free themselves from the hold that the TRS and its chief K Chandrasekhar Rao has taken on them.

AICC sources claimed that the high command was unhappy with the T Congress leaders for having submitted their resignations directly to the Speaker and not to the party functionaries.

However, Nizamabad MP Madhu Yashki said there was no pact whatsoever between Azad and the Telangana Congress leaders.

In the meantime, the 11 Telangana Congress MPs, who submitted their resignations to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and lone RS MP Keshava Rao who gave it to deputy chairman Hamid Ansari, are devising a similar strategy in case their resignations too are rejected. TOI

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply