Home » Hyderabad, Top News » Telangana MLAs to submit resignations again & again

Telangana MLAs to submit resignations again & again

Posted by on July 24, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: The MLAs from Telangana region have decided to keep on submitting resignations to their posts until they were accepted by the Speaker, it is learnt.

Over 100 MLAs belonging to various parties have submitted their resignations on July 4, to press their demand for creation of separate Telangana state. The lawmakers who resigned consisted of 47 of the ruling Congress, 37 of TDP, 11 of TRS, four of Communist Party of India (CPI) and two of the Bharatiya Janata Pary (BJP). Telangana region accounts for 119 seats in the 294-member assembly. The resignations were aimed at creating a constitutional crisis and forcing the central government to take a decision on carving out a separate state.

As the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Mr Nadendla Manohar had rejected the resignations of the Telangana legislators on the ground of ‘emotional outcome’, the Telangana legislators were up in arms on the decision of the Speaker.

The Telangana MLAs were suspecting that the Speaker has acted on the direction of the Congress high command. At this juncture, the Congress MLAs from the region will have to definitely face pressure from the High Command in the coming days.

The TRS legislators have already decided to submit their resignations once again. They have decided to do it again and again until their resignations were accepted by the Speaker.

The TDP MLAs from the region may also follow the foot steps of their TRS colleagues.

The Congress MLA from Banjara Hills constituency, Mr P Vishnu Vardhan Reddy has already announced that he would once again submit his resignation to the Speaker. Expressing displeasure over the decision of the Speaker, he made it clear that he would stand in the fore front in whatever agitation was taken up by the people for the cause of Telangana.

As the rebel TDP MLAs, Mr Jogu Ramanna and Mr Venugopala Chary tried to fax their resignations to the Speaker and the Assembly Secretary, but even the Fax machine was also not cooperating with them, as they got the reply that the ‘fax is not working’. Hence, they got the help of their colleague Mr Nagam Janardhan Reddy and managed to fax their resignation letter.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply