Home » Hyderabad » Telangana-Turmoil takes a toll of Telangana leaders in reshuffle

Telangana-Turmoil takes a toll of Telangana leaders in reshuffle

Posted by on July 12, 2011 0 Comment

New Delhi: The Telangana turmoil seems to have affected the chances of the MPs from the region to find a berth in the union ministry during the reshuffle on Tuesday.

However one of the senior most Lok Sabha member from the North Coastal Andhra region Mr. Y. Kishore Chandra Deo after a long wait made it to the Union Cabinet. He was inducted as a Cabinet Minister and allocated the portfolios of Panchayat Raj and Tribal Welfare.

With the induction of Mr. Kishore Chadra Deo, Andhra Pradesh with 33 Lok Sabha members has two ministers of Cabinet rank in the UPA II Government. The other cabinet minister is Mr. S. Jaipal Reddy, who is from the Telangana region. There are three other Ministers of State from the Seemandhra region.

It might be mentioned here that when there was speculations about the Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh planning to do a rejig of his ministry, as many as seven aspirants from both regions of the state were in the race for a berth. As a matter of fact it was felt that atleast two to three would be accommodated in the union ministry.

Among the aspirants from the state were Lok Sabha members Mr. Sarve Satyanarayana and Mr.Anjan Kumar Yadav and Rajya Sabha member Mr. V. Hanumantha Rao, all belonging to the Telangana region. From the Seemandhra region the aspirants were Mr. Kishore Chandra Deo, Mr. Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, Mr. Kavuri Sambasiva Rao and Mr. Kotla Surya Prakash Reddy.

However only Mr. Kishore Chandra Deo, who got elected from the Aruku (ST) constituency could make it to the union ministry after Mr. A. Saipratap who was a Minister of State in the central ministry was dropped. As a matter of fact Mr. Sai Pratap was inducted in the UPA II Government as he was a close confidant of the late Chief Minister Y. S. Rajashekar Reddy.

According to informed sources one of the reasons for the Prime Minister to show the door to Mr. Sai Pratap was his close proximity with the late YSR family. In fact his brother is at present is a staunch supporter of Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy and an active member of the YSR Congress. Also he was stated to have failed to come up to the expectations of the central leaders.

The MPs from the Telangana region, especially the Rajya Sabha member Mr. V. Hanumantha Rao, a staunch loyalist of the Gandhi family, expected to be rewarded for the hard work and sincerity. But the ongoing agitations for a separate Telangana state, which also saw a number of Congress MPs resigning, has affected the chances of the leaders from the region.

Reffering to the demand of the Seemandhra Students JAC that all the electged representatives should resign by July 15 fore the cause of a united state, Mr. Kishore Chandra Deo asserted that he would not succumb to any threats and pressure. He would abide by any decision of the High Command with regard to the prevailing crisis in the state.

Mr. Sai Pratap, who was dropped from the ministry, said he has no regrets from being out of the cabinet. The Prime Minister have taken the decision in the overall interest of all and he would abide by the decision as a disciplined soldier. He asserted that he would continue to be a Congress worker till his last breadth and would serve the party as loyal soldier.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply