Home » Hyderabad » TPJAC sets June 25 deadline for Legislators to resign

TPJAC sets June 25 deadline for Legislators to resign

Posted by on June 9, 2011 0 Comment

Hyderabad: Telangana Political Joint Action Committee convenor Kodandaram on Thursday set a deadline of June 25 for Telangana elected representatives to resign from their posts if the Centre does not announce a clear statement on Telangana state by then.

Talking to media persons after emerging out of Joint Action Committee Steering Committee meeting at TNGO Bhavan, Nampally, Prof Kodandaram said the meeting has discussed thoroughly over the future course action plan to be adopted for achieving the Telangana state.

He said the meeting asked the elected representatives to resign from their posts if the Centre does not make a clear announcement on Telangana by June 25.

If the elected representatives do not resign from their posts, the TP JAC would launch a Telangana-wide campaign to create awareness over the issue among people, Prof Kodandaram said.

Promising cooperation in the next elections, Prof Kodandaram asked both the TDP and Congress leaders to resign from their posts and take the agitation to the grassroots level.

He said the meeting also adopted a resolution demanding the Centre to must introduce the Telangana Bill in the monsoon session of Parliament itself.

The TPJAC convenor added that the Steering Committee appealed to Telangana people to boycott Rythu Sadassus being organized by government to address farmers’ issues.

As part of protests, Prof Kodandaram said the Telangana leaders would organize Vanta Varpu programme on June 19 in Hyderabad.

He said the Steering Committee also decided to organize rail rokos, massive protests, and picket National Highways in the second phase of agitation.

All these protests will paralyse the administration and bring the governance to a standstill, the TPJAC stated.

The separate statehood spearhead also called upon people of Tandur to boycott the Telangana Ranabheri to be organized by TDP leaders as the party has not cleared its stand on Telangana.

“If the Congress and TDP leaders had worked together, Telangana would have been achieved long ago,” Kodandaram rued.

The meeting was attended by TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao, New Democracy leader Suryam, BJP leader Rajeswara Rao, TNGO leader Swamy Goud and JAC members.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply