Home » Hyderabad » Two TDP, TRS MPs resign, Shankar Rao follows suit

Two TDP, TRS MPs resign, Shankar Rao follows suit

Posted by on July 5, 2011 0 Comment

New Delhi: Telugu Desam Party MPs from Telangana Nama Nageshwar Rao and Ramesh Rathod on Tuesday met Speaker Meira Kumar and submitted their resignations from the Lok Sabha, even as Telangana Rashtra Samithi president K Chandrasekhar Rao and party MP Vijayashanti faxed in their papers.

The resignation by the four MPs came a day after their counterparts from the Congress resigned on Monday to mount on the Centre to take an early decision on the separate statehood demand.
Mr Nageshwar Rao told media persons later that he and in protest against the delay in announcing a decision on Telangana.

The TDP MP also demanded that the Centre stand by the December 9, 2009 statement made by Union Home Minister P Chidambaram.

He also demanded that the resignations submitted by Telangana Legislators should be accepted soon.

Earlier in the day, TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao and party MP Vijayshanthi too faxed in their resignations from their Lok Sabha seats.

KCR and Vijayashanti are expected to personally meet Ms Meira Kumar later in the week.

Besides, Textiles and Handlooms Minister P Shankar Rao also faxed in his resignation from the state Assembly to Deputy Speaker Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka from the United States where he is on an official visit.(INN)

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply