Home » Hyderabad, Top News » We will consult one and all on Telangana: Azad

We will consult one and all on Telangana: Azad

Posted by on July 19, 2011 0 Comment

AICC incharge of Andhra Pradesh affairs Ghulam Nabi Azad on Monday assured the Congress leaders from Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra regions that he would consult the leaders from all the regions of the state before taking any decision on Telangana. Talking to the delegation of about 50 Congress leaders from the two regions, which are on a campaign for keeping the state united, Azad cautioned the leaders not to make any provocative statements.

The leaders arrived in Delhi in response to the decision of the T-Congress leaders to intensify their agitation for a separate state. The leaders, MPs, MLAs and other senior leaders, led by state education minister S Sailajanath, want to ensure that Telangana is not granted at any cost. In all, 12 MPs, 15 ministers, 27 MLAs and 10 MLCs apart from several senior leaders were in the team.

The team includes among others,D Manikya Vara Prasad, Kanna Lakshminarayana, T G Venkatesh, Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, Thota Narasimhan, Kavuri Sambasivarao, Yerasu Pratapa Reddy, KVP Ramachandra Rao, J D Seelam, Gade Venkata Reddy, M Srinivasulu Reddy, J C Divakar Reddy Mandali Budha Prasad, M Sudhakar Babu, etc.

In an hour-long meeting with Azad, the leaders opposed the creation of a state based on the sentiments. “Sentiments, which are transient should not basis for the bifurcation of the state. If the sentiments are to be the basis, then the state should have to be divided into a minimum of five states namely Rayalaseema, Coastal Andhra, North Coastal Andhra, Hyderabad and Telangana,” a 10-page memorandum presented to Azad said.

The memorandum also said that none of the previous governments at the Centre had favored the creation of Telangana keeping in view the disastrous consequences it would have. . “Even Indira Gandhi was also not in favour of Telangana statet, “the memorandum said.

The leaders are expected to meet Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, defence minister A K Antony on Tuesday. TOI

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply