Home » India » Ahmed Patel, Smriti Irani elected to RS

Ahmed Patel, Smriti Irani elected to RS

Posted by on July 16, 2011 0 Comment

Congress leader Ahmed Patel was on Friday declared elected unopposed for the fourth time to the Rajya Sabha while BJP’s actor-turned politician Smriti Irani also made it to the Upper House of Parliament for the first time, without any contest.

BJP’s another candidate Dilip Pandya was also declared elected unopposed to the third seat for the upper house from Gujarat.

The three leaders were elected unopposed as no other candidate had filled the form to challenge them for the three Rajya Sabha seats, secretary to Gujarat Legislative Assembly D.M. Patel, who was also the returning officer for the elections, said.

Mr Patel, political secretary to Congress president Sonia Gandhi, had filed his nomination papers on July 11.
The BJP had fielded Irani, who shot to fame for her role in television serial Saas Bhi Kabhi Bhau Thi, and senior leader Pandya to represent the party and they had also filed their nomination forms on July 11.

The returning officer had received only three forms for the seats. Assistant returning officer for the elections, Mahendra Parmar, on Friday declared the three elected unopposed after the time for withdrawal of forms was over. Economic Times

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply