Home » India » Don’t vote for Independents: Mamata Banerjee

Don’t vote for Independents: Mamata Banerjee

Posted by on April 12, 2011 0 Comment

Describing Independent candidates as “agents of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM)”, Trinamool Congress (TMC) Chief Mamata Banerjee has said they had tied up with the party to prevent the Trinamool-Congress alliance from forming the next government in West Bengal.

Addressing a rally here, Banerjee said: “The people will never forgive them for this plan.”

With a promise to provide free medical facilities, Banerjee urged the people to vote for TMC and get relieved of the over 35 years of CPM led Left rule in the state.

“Our party says that if we form the next government then we would build hospitals in every district. We would provide health cards, so that poor can avail medical facilities free of cost. We would only say one thing to you that you have seen a lot in these 35 years and we don’t want to see it any more now,” said Banerjee.

Earlier, Banerjee said the CPI (M) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had entered into a pact to divide anti-Left votes in the coming election.

“The CPI (M) and BJP were working in tandem to divide anti-Left votes. Therefore voting for the BJP means voting for CPI (M). I appeal to you not to vote for BJP,” she added.

The CPM has been in power in West Bengal for more than three decades but presently, it is facing tough challenge from TMC and the Congress, who have stepped up pressure by raising simmering issues such as Maoist insurgency, corruption, and unemployment.

The state will have elections in six phases. The first phase of voting will take place on April 18, second phase on April 23, third phase on April 27, fourth phase on May 3, fifth phase on May 7 and sixth phase on May 10.

The total number of assembly constituencies in West Bengal is 294, of which 68 are reserved for the Scheduled Castes and 16 for the Scheduled Tribes.

The Election Commission has said polling will take place at 51,919 polling stations. Agencies

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply