Home » India, Top News » First phase of Assam polls today

First phase of Assam polls today

Posted by on April 4, 2011 0 Comment

The Election Commission has completed the preparation for first phase of polling for the 62 Assembly seats in 13 districts of Assam on Monday.

According to the commission, polling will be held in 11,264 polling booths of 7,743 places for which 485 candidates are in the fray. The Election Commission has identified 2,093 polling stations as hyper-sensitive, 2,985 sensitive and another 817 centers as prone to violence.

The districts going to polls on Monday included, Karimganj, Hailakandi, Cachar, Dima Hasao, Karbi-Anglong, Sonitpur, Golaghat, Jorhat, Sivsagar, Lakhimpur, Dhemaji, Dibrugarh and Tinsukia districts.
The electoral fortunes of several high profile leaders including Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi, ministers Ajanta Neog, Pranab Gogoi, Nurzamal Sarkar, Bharat Ch. Narah, Praduyt Bordoloi, Gautom Rai, D. P. Gowala, Kharsing Ingty, and AGP leader Brindaban Goswami, and Atul Bora besides BJP president Ranjit Dutta will be sealed in the EVMs.

Meanwhile, massive security arrangements have been made to ensure the smooth conduct of polling on Monday. Polling will be held amid tight security in the backdrop of threat issued by the Paresh Barua faction of the banned ULFA and also due to possible clashes between supporters of various candidates as the run-up to the polls witnessed a few poll-related clashes in some Barak Valley constituencies. Altogether 346 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed with 65 to 75 per cent of polling stations, including most of the critical ones, will be covered by central paramilitary forces and the rest by police, micro-observers and video-cameras. Asian Age

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply