Home » India » First phase of West Bengal assembly election begins

First phase of West Bengal assembly election begins

Posted by on April 18, 2011 0 Comment

Polling began on Monday morning in 54 constituencies for the first of the six-phase assembly elections in West Bengal in which an electorate of 97.42 lakh will decide the fate of 364 candidates.

Tight security arrangements have been made for free, fair and peaceful polling in the constituencies spread across six north Bengal districts of Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, North Dinjapur, South Dinajpur and Malda.

Some of the important political figures whose fortunes will be decided on Monday include 10 ministers of the Left Front government, including Urban Development Minister Ashok Bhattacharya, Public Works Department minister Kshiti Goswami, Jail and Social Welfare Minister Biswanath Chowdhury, Congress leader Debaprasad Roy and Trinamool Congress Darjeeling district president Gautam Deb.

The six-phase election in the state is scheduled to be held between April 18 and May 10. Rediff News

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply